OVC History

December 3, 1953 - Dave Smith and James "Red" Duty held the first OVC meeting at Don Keyse Restaurant in Coal Grove

December 9, 1953 - Second OVC meeting held in Oak Hill to establish bylaws

Tommy Hairston of Coal Grove elected first president.

John Miller of Oak Hill elected first vice-president.

Charlie Kautz elected secretary-treasurer

1954 - Football play began in the OVC with Coal Grove, Chesapeake, Oak Hill, Rock Hill, South Point, Wheelersburg.

1955 - Dave Smith took over as Secretary

1956 - Fairland entered the OVC.

1957 - Wheelersburg left the OVC.

1962 - Ironton St. Joe entered the OVC.

1963 - Symmes Valley entered the OVC.

1971 - Symmes Valley left the OVC.

1977 - Symmes Valley returned to the OVC.

1979 - Ironton St. Joe left the OVC.

1984 - Symmes Valley and Oak Hill left the OVC.

1986 - Ceredo-Kenova entered the OVC.

1987 - Buffalo and Wayne entered the OVC.

1988 - Wayne left the OVC.

1991 - Ceredo-Kenova left the OVC.

1992 - Buffalo left the OVC.

2002 - River Valley entered the OVC.

River Valley leaves SEAOL, to join Ohio Valley Conference

Thursday, November 16, 2000

It's out the back door and in the front.

River Valley High School officially withdrew its membership Wednesday from the Southeastern Ohio Athletic League and thus paved the way for the Raiders to join the Ohio Valley Conference.

School officials have already applied and been accepted by the Ohio Valley Conference which has been seeking new members ever since losing three West Virginia schools: Wayne, Buffalo, and Ceredo-Kenova.

River Valley was a consolidation of the now-defunct Hannan Trace, Southwestern, North Gallia, and Kyger Creek high schools. However, the former Hannan Trace and Southwestern school districts combined several years ago to form South Gallia High School.

South Gallia is also weighing a decision to apply for membership to the OVC.

With the defection of students to South Gallia, River Valley's size was severely decreased. The smaller enrollment is the main reason the school decided to leave the SEOAL.

"We've enjoyed our time in the SEOAL. It has been positive," River Valley principal Pat Stout said. "The OVC matches our size a lot better. I know our coaches and kids are excited about the prospects."

River Valley is expected to make a complete entry into the OVC by the 2002-03 school year.

Current OVC members are Coal Grove, Rock Hill, South Point, Chesapeake, and Fairland.

The SEOAL will now have seven league members: Athens, Gallipolis, Jackson, Logan, Marietta, Vincent Warren, and Point Pleasant, W.Va


View text-based website